For people who care about food.

What can’t I feed to a Coeliac?
, / 1048 0

What can’t I feed to a Coeliac?

SHARE

What can’t I feed to a Coeliac?

Although this list may seem extensive, it shouldn’t necessarily effect too much what you’d like to cook as there are usually alternatives. Also, some coeliacs are very sensitive to even a small amount of gluten and therefore cross contamination needs to be avoided, but others aren’t as sensitive as that. It’s therefore worth checking on a case-by-case system.

Always check the ingredients to see if there is any gluten in it, and remember that ‘flourless’ doesn’t necessarily mean gluten free.

So, what foods can’t I feed to a Coeliac?

  • Products containing gluten, (wheatbarley, rye, triticale)
  • Oats as they are often rolled in flour
  • Pastacakesbreadpastries,
  • Barley squash, eg lemon barley
  • Beer, inc. lagerstoutales BUT cider is free from gluten
  • Walkers Crisps as they’re packaged in a factory which has gluten products, but it’s worth being on the safe side. Kettle chips are ok as well.
  • Malt vinegar and malt drinks 
  • Other types of wheat, such as Bulgar wheat, durum flour, semolina, spelt flour,
  • Gravy (see recipe for coeliac onion gravy!)
  • Soy sauce
  • English Mustard
  • Some prepacked meat (double check ingredients) and sausages
  • Tortilla chips
  • Some ready meal soups
  • Liquid Vitamins
  • Blue cheese
  • Some “Gluten-free” foods can contain small amounts of gluten and, if eaten in large quantities, will lead to illness
  • Don’t use the same toaster for gluten-free bread as for ‘normal’ bread
  • Oat Milk
  • Pickles, such as beetroot and gherkin
  • Taramasalata (a dip made from cod roe and bread crumbs), but hummus is fine.
  • Couscous
  • Chip shop chips (as they’re fried in the same fat that batter [made from flour] has been in)
  • Batter on fish etc
  • Salad dressings
  • Self-basting chicken and turkey
  • Matzo
  • Some cheaper yoghurts are bulked out with flour to add thickness, so double check.
  • Be very careful with delis as well as many of the cheeses and hams are cut on the same board as bread for sandwiches. This rule applies to re-packaged cheeses in the deli aisle of supermarkets.
  • Some condiments contain vinegar, and some coeliacs can react badly to cider vinegar. It’s worth checking on a case-by-case basis.
  • Some spices can contain gluten
  • The occasional flavoured tea/coffee can contain gluten.
  • Whiskey and gin, which are made from glutenous grains, can cause a reaction in some people.
  • You also need to be careful of cross-contamination!!!
Summary
What can’t I feed to a Coeliac
Article Name
What can’t I feed to a Coeliac
Description
Although this list may seem extensive, it shouldn’t necessarily effect too much what you’d like to cook as there are usually alternatives. Also, some coeliacs are very sensitive to even a small amount of gluten and therefore cross contamination needs to be avoided, but others aren’t as sensitive as that. It’s therefore worth checking on a case-by-case system.
Author

Leave a Reply

Close

Loading ...

Sorry :(

Can't connect ... Please try again later.

%d bloggers like this:

PASSWORD RESET

LOG IN