What Can’t I Feed To a Vegetarian?
Here is a list of what you can’t feed to a vegetarian. In general, they do not eat anything with a face but there are other things that you need to look out for:
- Meat, obviously. This includes pork, beef, chicken, lamb.
- Fish, so any kind of seafood, shellfish.
- Gelatin, so marshmallows, jelly, pop tarts, most sweets, yoghurts, some cream cheeses, frozen veg (check ingredient list), cream cheese and sour cream can sometimes contain it.
- Dripping and lard (have a look at my vegan roast potato recipe!)
- Rennet in cheeses like Parmesan, Gorgonzola, Grana Padano
- Isinglass, found in real ale
- Fish Oil and sauce
- Carmine/Cochineal, often in red dyed products like sweets, some pilau rice in restaraunts